A little about me

My name is Donny Weinbrenner.  I am a second year Master’s student in the college of Sociology and Criminology & Law.  My research focuses are knowledge, culture, and media.  Specifically, I am interested in researching how the culture growing out of participatory media, like YouTube, interacts with more traditional forms of media to change the ways in which knowledge is produced.  I am taking this class because I believe that new media has changed the ways in which we interact with knowledge production, which is an important part of the democratic process.

My hometown is Hollywood, Florida, which is kind of the awkward middle sibling of Miami and Ft. Lauderdale.  I really look forward to discussing the topics laid out in the syllabus.

Comments
One Response to “A little about me”
  1. Hi, Donny. I’m having trouble imagining what your research might be, specifically. I’m reading, “My research focuses are knowledge, culture, and media,” but that seems to be about as wide and open as the whole of the sky! So I hope I’m not being too nosy, but could you offer a little more detail (to satisfy my curiosity)?

Leave a Reply

